Reviews For Smoke
Name: catnipH reviewed Smoke on Jun 08, 2008 11:37 pm
Beautiful...

Author's Response: Thanks!
Name: Amanda Mancini reviewed Smoke on Feb 07, 2008 01:19 pm
You know, my grandparents are Dutch. During the war, my grandfather (Opa) was forced to work at a bomb factory. For years my Oma saved his letters, whatever terrible/sad/racy/desperate things were written in them. There was a time, after they moved to Canada, when my Oma just burned all of them. She didn't want any of her 5 children accidentally coming across them and reading them. My mom didn't understand at first, but does now as a grown woman with her own saved diaries from her youth. I kind of wonder when I'll feel that way, but then again, I don't save written accounts of my life, I'm sort of glad to let the past go.

Author's Response:

I can sort of understand burning the letters for that reason. Private letters are just that. On the other hand, I suspect that most people, if they read their parents' old love letters would understand more than not. Anyway, it's each person's own decision, I suppose. Thanks for the comments!

Name: eugenia reviewed Smoke on Feb 04, 2008 08:11 pm
I used to burn old love letters.


Author's Response: It's very cathartic. Thanks for the comment!
Name: SlytherLynnie reviewed Smoke on Jan 17, 2008 12:01 pm
Nice transformation piece - I especially loved the last bit, with Draco's eyes... very artistic.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it.
Name: Flipinpenname reviewed Smoke on Nov 21, 2007 11:59 am
great job. i loved it.

Author's Response: Thanks!
Name: Extreme Dancer reviewed Smoke on Mar 13, 2007 08:31 am
That was so beautiful. It's just... I can't even put into words how beautiful that was. Great job.
Name: frizzl3fairy reviewed Smoke on Mar 03, 2007 06:03 pm
its really good but im a little confused.... what happened to harry? why did he think ginny would still be pining for him? if he did think so why didn't he come for her? if he didnt think so why would he have not sent the letters?
Name: mena reviewed Smoke on Jan 25, 2007 10:50 am
This fanfic is a lesson for me, really. I should imitate ginny here.

Author's Response: Perhaps you should! Thanks for the comment.
Name: LilyEvans reviewed Smoke on Jan 03, 2007 03:31 pm
i love it. really do think it is great, although it made me wanna cry. :) *** out of *****

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it!
Name: meag reviewed Smoke on Jan 01, 2007 09:10 pm
"awkwardly drinking tea with my mother"-great line, wonderful visual. the whole thing was colorful and full of imagery. loved it! wish i was marrying draco, ;)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it!
Name: xNymphadoraX reviewed Smoke on Dec 16, 2006 05:44 pm
This was lovely. First person worked very well here, it brought us right into the forefront of Ginny's mind; it made it more personal. I also really liked the idea of Ginny sorting through old memories and ridding herself of the ones she no longer needs to hold on to, because of Draco. I really enjoyed it and good luck with your other piece!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the nice comments. I actually wrote this more than a year ago, and the other piece is also finished, so I don't need to worry about it anymore. Thank you again for the review!
Name: nun outfits are cool reviewed Smoke on Dec 14, 2006 10:58 am
aaw...
This is a lovely fic. I liked it...

Author's Response: Thank you!
Name: spider reviewed Smoke on Dec 13, 2006 06:38 pm
There are some fics that are really wonderful, even without any dialogue, and this is one of them.

You write from Ginny's perspective so naturally that I can almost imagine this being part of an epilogue or something in canon. Really nice job.

Author's Response: I always get nervous about writing in the first-person, so it is nice to hear that it worked out okay. Thank you very much for the lovely review!
Name: ContessaNatasha reviewed Smoke on Dec 13, 2006 04:13 pm
Very nice way of showing how we grow and move on. You have inspired me to do the same with all my old letters, notes, diaries, etc.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it, though I'm not sure it is always a good idea to follow in Ginny's footsteps. But if you do, I hope that it helps you move forward with your life, to much more positive things! Thank you for reading and for the review.
Name: Analucia Malfoy reviewed Smoke on Dec 13, 2006 01:55 pm
Lovely. Simply lovely.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!
Name: imelda reviewed Smoke on Dec 13, 2006 10:17 am
What an absolutely lovely fic. You write the first person REALLY well, much better than one usually sees in fanfic. Contrary to popular belief, it's actually harder to write in the first person and do it well, especially for amateur writers.

I liked the tone of the fic, and the way Ginny described all the Weasleys as packrats. You really get a sense of family here, and that is so important for someone like Ginny.

My only qualm is with the end--did she really need to burn the letters? I understand that that was almost expected from the beginning, that she'd have to rid herself of these meaningless--and painful--memories. I was sorry to see her do it, though, because I grew so attached to those letters, to all of Ginny's things, so quickly. It seemed almost wasteful and pointless to burn them.

Otherwise, I loved it. I also liked how none of the Weasleys could bear telling Harry about Ginny's marriage to Draco--I thought that was very realistic.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the long and thoughtful review! I'm glad that you think I write well in the first person--it certainly is a challenge, and the few times I have tried it, I have worried terribly about getting the character's voice right. It is nice to know that you think it worked, at least in this case.

I think I understand your qualms about burning the letters. I guess that in some ways, it didn't need to be a physical burning, but there did need to be a metaphorical burning at least, so that Ginny could truly move on--her new life growing out of the ashes of the old one, so to speak.

Anyway, thank you again for the lovely review!

Name: CourtneyFaith reviewed Smoke on Aug 17, 2006 09:32 am
~WOW...very poetic. I really like it.~
Name: JuliusCaesar reviewed Smoke on Mar 21, 2006 01:24 pm
I don't believe that I've not read this before - silly me! It's such a beautiful piece of work. Well done.
Name: WG reviewed Smoke on Mar 20, 2006 08:07 am
Amazing writing.... hope to read a lot more from u.
Name: fallenwitch reviewed Smoke on Sep 05, 2005 07:52 am
Bittersweet and poignant with a dash of light thrown in at the end. Writing in the first person is the most difficult of all the writing tasks, I think. You have done a magnificent job. Take a bow.
Name: Ronlover reviewed Smoke on Sep 02, 2005 07:51 am
That was so sad, yet interesting. I really did like it. Keep up the great work.
Name: Adelagia reviewed Smoke on Sep 01, 2005 01:16 pm
I enjoyed reading this. It has a very calm and lovely narrative flow about it and I liked the bits about the Weasley boys' packratting. You write just fine in first person; the only thing is that the occasional tense shift can be slightly jarring. I hope you're getting unstuck with your other story. Keep up the great work!
Name: Ada Achlys reviewed Smoke on Aug 31, 2005 05:34 pm
That was lovely and bittersweet. Very well written!
You must login (register) to review.