Reviews For The Hidden Doorway
Name: Teller of Tales reviewed The Butterflies in her Stomach on Oct 16, 2006 07:29 pm
Loved it! Can't wait until the next chapter.
Name: Rashonda reviewed The Butterflies in her Stomach on Oct 16, 2006 04:57 pm
Alright great follow-up. Here are my guesses on who the "boy" might be. 1. Helena with a transfigured or polyjuiced exterior. 2. Mathias there is something off about him and not in a good way. 3. Lastly, the guy who told Ginny his name(who I forgot)the security guard. If, it isn't any of the three I'll be extremely shocked. I just hope it's not a demented two-personality Harry.

Author's Response: You are the first person to suggest Helena. Wow. That is a place I hadn't expected anyone to go.
Name: evilkitty51 reviewed The Boy Without a Name on Oct 16, 2006 04:20 pm
I found this chapter rather disturbing. Good but disturbing.
Name: hummie reviewed The Butterflies in her Stomach on Oct 16, 2006 02:45 pm
ARG, this has been so wonderful thus far! This is the first mystery-type fic I've ever read. It's really well done! I have a feeling that Ivan Ivanski = Matthias . . . You did a really great job of developing Ivan's character. I was suitably horrified. Please update soon!
Name: DanRadcliffesgrrl reviewed The Butterflies in her Stomach on Oct 16, 2006 01:58 pm
Thank you soooo much for updating! I have been waiting forever for you to do another chapter. This is one of the most brilliant stories I've ever read and I hope you update soon. Thanks!
Name: oh snap its bri reviewed The Butterflies in her Stomach on Oct 16, 2006 01:09 pm
ah i love it!! i can't wait for the next installment. keep up the fab work!
Name: nappy reviewed The Butterflies in her Stomach on Oct 16, 2006 08:46 am
Oh, I love this story! Keep the goodness coming, but faster hopefully! ;p

*hugs*
Name: dragoncharmer79 reviewed The Butterflies in her Stomach on Oct 16, 2006 07:49 am
Wow. this story just keeps getting better. I can not wait to see how they are going to react to each other once they are alone.
Name: mischievous_lozz reviewed The Boy Without a Name on Oct 07, 2006 06:00 am
Wow a really good chapter althought a bit slightly sick but that's what you kind of intended. i'm glad we got to see why the sociopath is doing these kind of things. Keep up the goodwork and I hope you update soon!!!!
Name: LadyMarmalade reviewed The Boy Without a Name on Sep 10, 2006 06:36 am
Wow my favorite chapter by far. I dont think many people understand how true this stuff is, well not the magic part. But when he was younger with the animals...reminded me soo much of my four year old foster cousin. But hes in a good home now so I assume he wont be anything like your character. But Brilliant story. I cant wait to read more of it. I hope you can update soon.
Name: Kisou reviewed The Boy Without a Name on Sep 07, 2006 10:24 pm
You've created a very deep and extremely disturbing criminal. Good job. I don't mean to say that I condone what he does or having it plastered all over the place, but I think it was important for us, as the readers, to read that so that we can understand what our characters are up against and how serious this really is. Again, amzing job. Keep it up.

Author's Response: No, the chapter wasn't written for teh sake or writing or disturbing, but to inform. That's what you could expect to happen with a real life sociopath, take away the magic bits.
Name: Embellished reviewed The Boy Without a Name on Sep 07, 2006 01:22 pm
Well, this chapter certainly was disturbing. I found it interesting how similar this character's story is to Tom Riddle's. Was that intentional? I particularly liked the line "The incest must have been the reason why his mother and grandmother seemed mentally unstable at times. The boy swore to himself hed never allow the same thing to happen to him." I guess it never occurred to him that it already has. Anyway, thank you very much for this chapter, even if it might keep me from sleeping tonight!


Author's Response: Besides his mother dying, it wasn't really the same as Tom's. Tom went to an orphanage. There's no mention of abuse on him personally. Nor incest. Ivan meant that he'd never let himself get involved with a family member. He wouldn't do that to himself.
Name: dragoncharmer79 reviewed The Boy Without a Name on Sep 07, 2006 04:54 am
I am really enjoying this story I hope you update soon. I was glad you gave us some insight on the criminal that will help us understand more.
Name: Rashonda reviewed The Boy Without a Name on Sep 06, 2006 02:10 pm
I have several theories/suspects on who the 'boy' might be. This chapter was so engrossing, it allowed me to not only have empathy for this monster but loathe his actions as well. Even though this story is fictional, it lies in the realm of truth as well in the 'real world' because they are many out there living this kind of life, not to the extremes of Iven but how his journey into being a psychopath began. I really do enjoy your story, thanks for posting. I look forward to your next update.

Author's Response: Please. SHare your theories.
Name: Teller of Tales reviewed The Boy Without a Name on Sep 05, 2006 07:18 pm
I think that you are a really great writer. Even though this chapter was extremely disturbing, you made this character seem real and you made me believe he could grow up into this monster he has become. I am sure some of your other readers thought this might happen but you surprised me with making Ginny his next victim. I can't wait to see what happens next and hope you update soon.
Name: WG13 reviewed The Boy Without a Name on Sep 05, 2006 05:18 pm

Himm... very creepy, with vivid details... You guys have definitely done ur research coz everything was very believable...

Some Grand mom that poor boy has... wonder what would have happened if he wasn't cursed by her... kinda feel sorry for him... and wonder if he would have ended up so twisted if he had a normal childhood...
Name: bobkatz reviewed The Boy Without a Name on Sep 05, 2006 03:27 pm
OMG. I loved how you built that up. Poor Ginny. That was great.
Name: bobkatz reviewed The Boy Without a Name on Sep 05, 2006 03:26 pm
OMG. I loved how you built that up. Poor Ginny. That was great.
Name: shalita reviewed The Boy Without a Name on Sep 05, 2006 03:05 pm
This was seriously insane, and I mean that in the best way possible! My only thing is... what's his father's last name??? *lol* I guess I'll just have to wait and see.

Author's Response: If I told you what "Ivan's" father's last name was, then you'd be able to figure out who he is! That's a surprise for later. Ronda (my co-author) and I know who he is, but no one else does. It's part of the mystery. Thanks for reviewing!
Name: ContessaNatasha reviewed The Boy Without a Name on Sep 05, 2006 01:27 pm
wow that was creepy and very well done. i applaud you, you showed the pyschological aspect incredibly well.
Name: gotsnape reviewed The Boy Without a Name on Sep 05, 2006 01:26 pm
THAT was horrifying! You must have done some deep research, and I commend you for the depth of your chapter. This shows how easily the mind of a child can be bent towards destruction and pain. I work with children. I have a Master's in Behavior Disorders and only twice in my 17 years have I seen the type of child you depicted here in this chapter. They both began their 'careers' with small animals, wild creatures that could be easily caught, such as turtles, before moving on to family pets and the pets of neighbors. I could only watch in horror as the parents ignored my information and the input of school councilors. The futures of these, now, young men are very grim but I fear most for their future victims. It is chilling. You captured the mind of a budding psychopath exactly, even to the refusal of admitting error or damage. The excuses these sorts of people provide for themselves is just as frightening as their actions. They feel no remorse. I shivered as I read your excellently worded chapter. You were as clinical as a reality based crime documentary. I felt like I was reading a textbook example of a monster a'borning. Well done!

Author's Response: Wow!! I didn't do the research myself. My co-author, RondaStarr, did it and I wrote it. But I'm very glad to hear that it was depicted so well. We wanted to write a character that is very abnormal while still seeming normal on the outside. He doesn't have close friends, but Louis still invited him for the summer; people still think he's a normal guy. I commend Ronda for correcting any "sociopathic" errors I made so that the final copy is what you have just read. Thank you for the review!
Name: Anise reviewed The Boy Without a Name on Sep 05, 2006 10:59 am
Nice portrait of a sociopath, ahem. But anyway...

+++
You know, the thing about your work that makes it stand out is actually deceptively simple: your Draco and your Ginny are absolutely distinct characters. Draco, especially, could not be mistaken for the Draco of any other author. This is harder to do than it looks, since it's all too easy to rely on cliches when building his characterization: pouty sneer! sneery pout! vague references to a dark past! sexy hair! leather pants! You know the drill, I'm sure. ;) But not this Draco; he's truly original.

+++
Oh, and after the last chapter, I had an inspiring idea. The overall literary level of the entire universe would be much improved if you wrote and posted a smut cookie from Sailing the Dark Ship. You know, one that expanded on those annoying little asterisks. Apparently, you have turned your hand to that exalted sort of writing since then, with stellar results. This is purely a literary suggestion, of course. ;)

Author's Response: I posted a smutty outtake from Sailing the Dark Ship and it is called The Stay Until Morning. The original story wasn't expanded to include sex/smut because I wanted to retain an "R" rating. I do try and stray from cliches. I don't pretend Draco is super sexy or has a leather fetish. He's arrogant and an asshole, but after HBP we know he's not entirely evil. So I always write him as how I see him. Thanks for reviewing!
Name: Riddikulusly reviewed The Boy Without a Name on Sep 05, 2006 10:52 am
Wow.....this was a great chapter...it was interesting to see why the sociopath did what he did....please keep on writing and update soon!!
Name: lina reviewed The Boy Without a Name on Sep 05, 2006 07:21 am
wow. definitely well thought out and well written. i should have known ginny would be pursued at some point.
Name: mo reviewed The Real Story on Jul 31, 2006 03:39 pm
very coooooool story line, well thought out! update soon!!!!
You must login (register) to review.