Name: lovemedraco reviewed Selected Excerpts on Nov 21, 2007 09:44 pm
Oh, waaay better than the epilogue.That was very refreshing, and original :) I loves it. I wonder if you'll do that "only one more" chapter you said before... hmmm
Name: India reviewed Selected Excerpts on Sep 09, 2007 12:34 pm
I like where you're going with this, the style is a refreshing change of pace.
Name: Adelagia reviewed Selected Excerpts on Aug 02, 2007 02:37 pm
Nicely done, Lyndsie. Both its intention and the fic itself are much deeper and ring so much truer than what the dratted epilogue gave us. I had thought of doing something like this once, based on the nonfiction book 'Japan at War' by Cook and Cook, but I don't have the chops to pull it off, so I'm really glad to see a fic like yours.
Name: slygal reviewed Selected Excerpts on Aug 02, 2007 05:29 am
This is not over already is it??? NEED MORE!
Name: jandjsalmon reviewed Selected Excerpts on Aug 01, 2007 08:11 am
Ithink it's really unique, Lynds. I like the format -- with the book and then the excerpt that Ginny wrote herself. It was really well done - and believable too. Great work! ;)

Author's Response: It sort of just flowed out from a vague idea when I heard that JKR gave Ginny a journalism profession, and I thought about what she could have done to start it, and realized she had a rich source of experience to draw on. Then of course I had to get D&G together. I'm glad that I was able to write, and that my inspiration didn't fall flat, as usual. Thanks for reading, I'm glad to know that it was well-received.
Name: G W Malfoy reviewed Selected Excerpts on Aug 01, 2007 06:03 am
Ahh, that sounds so much better than the original ending, and so much more realistic and true to the story. :3

Author's Response: One of my main issues with the series is that there's a lot of effort expended to show that choice determines destiny - like Snape, and Draco up on the tower with Dumbledore. And then the epilogue just shows how each generation keeps repeating itself - combined with the letdown of all the Slytherins choosing not to fight with the 'good side'. This is just my idea of the longterm effects of someone making a different choice. Thanks for reading!
Name: slitherhither reviewed Selected Excerpts on Jul 31, 2007 06:21 pm
What a deliciously meaty premise. I can't wait to read what else "Gary Milton" has to say about the post-war era. Is it just me, or does it not seem curious that Gary Milton and Ginny Malfoy have the same initials?

Author's Response: Very curious indeed, no? I may have to rethink only doing one more chapter.
Name: Airmid reviewed Selected Excerpts on Jul 31, 2007 05:50 pm
Oh, I like it already. It is soooo much better than the epi. I can't wait to see what Ginny reveals next. The anti-pureblood practices make me nervous...I hope Ginny and Draco stand against them.

Author's Response: This was originally conceived as a one-shot. So I don't think we'll be seeing any more of Ginny's articles. Though I think I'll do another chapter of critical reviews of the 'book', which should touch on some of those things. And reveal part of the subtext as well. Glad you liked it.
Name: seegrim reviewed Selected Excerpts on Jul 31, 2007 05:50 pm
What a terrific idea!  And Draco-turned-hero, that was wonderful.  Thanks!

Author's Response: Thanks! I still conceive of him as an anti-hero, but he did make that choice. I felt like that's what he could have been working towards in canon. And it could have happened. The AU part is that it changed what was to come after, ie. the epilogue.
You must login (register) to review.