Reviews For Domino
Name: pardonthelitany reviewed Epilogue on Aug 05, 2012 07:52 pm
GAH. I totally did not want to read this story at first. I've read a few of your humor fics before, and I wasn't really looking for something dark or angsty. But I LOVED this.

I was totally enraptured from the first chapter. You had me utterly spooked by it all, and I became totally wrapped up in the story — the fear, the tension, the despair. When Narcissa handed her the knife, I kept thinking, 'Do it, do it.' But by the time she killed Lucius, I was just overcome with pride.

You're writing is very compelling, seamless in its emotional shifts. And your Ginny... Wow. Fantastic characterizations. You built her up beautifully. The scenes based around Rachmaninov were so well done — I actually jumped (actually, I gave a little scream) when someone interrupted me while reading. She became exactly what I wanted Ginny to be — empowered, aware, and awesome. She killed Bellatrix! I just wish that Bellatrix had been facing her when she had done it, that she had known it was Ginny who bested her. And Lucius's death was so great the way you wrote it — drowning in his own blood while Ginny watched... GAH.

I could seriously gush about this all day. I was even too into it to respond to each chapter individually (please forgive me). But I just had to tell you how much I enjoyed this —

— LOVED this. xxxJen

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the story so much. It took a lot out of me emotionally to write, which is why I don't write 'dark' fics all that often, but I'm quite happy with the way it turned out. I'm actually really happy you liked my Ginny. This story is about her emotional journey and overcoming experiences that would break a person. It was never supposed to be about epic battles of grand scale, and I'm glad you got that.

Thanks very much for the review. It made my day. ^_^
Name: Bellag reviewed Part One on May 01, 2012 03:54 pm
I enjoyed this story. You created a very unique atmosphere- rather gothic. There were elements that reminded me of Jane Eyre of Macbeth. The scene where Ginny kills Lucius is fantastic. I also really liked the epilogue. I am in awe. Thank you. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I definitely wanted to go for something darker for this story, so I'm glad that mood came across.
Name: lilpuffskein reviewed Part One on Feb 23, 2012 10:04 pm
Boogum, thank you so much for writing this piece! Your characterizations were perfect, I really enjoyed that you explored Narcissa's cold, ruthless side. I thought that the ending was a little quick, although I am one of those people who has to know every single little detail :) I'm sad that this story is over, it is one of my favorites (although I adore all of your stories)! Despite the dark tone, you managed to give a satisfying, yet realistic, ending. It was a pleasure to read :)

Author's Response: Thank you for this very thoughtful review! I'm glad you enjoyed the characterisations and were able to feel that the ending was still satisfying and realistic despite the fact that I did compress it right down. I really didn't want to make this story long - it was so emotionally draining for me to write, and in some ways I think it is better to keep things a little vague. Too much can get plain depressing.
Name: msm_2011simonebb reviewed Epilogue on Feb 17, 2012 08:07 pm
words can't express what i feel for this amazing story!! love the epilogue to pieces!!

Author's Response: Thanks so much!
Name: whatisfake reviewed Epilogue on Feb 16, 2012 09:29 am
I guess I misunderstanding your title. I did get a shock when you wrote you almost finished after chapter 7. I thought chapter 7 is just the beginning of the story, since Ginny's killing Lucius is a first card collapse. I thought there would be a long story how this instance will affect the war, affect Draco , Ginny or other stuffs.

Then you just end it. To be honest, I am a little confused. Maybe your first card in the Domino is the capture of the Ginny

Author's Response: I always intended this to be a small chaptered fic. I think a lot of people were expecting it to actually focus on the war, but this story was about Ginny's time at the manor, and only at the manor. The 'domino effect' was more or less her fall, from the point she is first captured, and then the way that impacted the Malfoys. Their fall, in turn, set off a disturbance in the Death Eaters, and then finally to Voldemort. But I knew right from the beginning I didn't want to write about the war. There are so many of those fics out there and I just wanted to focus on a more emotional struggle.
Name: Flipinpenname reviewed Epilogue on Feb 15, 2012 04:55 pm
i'm glad they ended up together. this is one of the most realistic d/gs out there. lucious would not have been a nice guy, no matter what. i really liked it. good job.

Author's Response: Thank you! I agree that Lucius would never have become a nice guy. He did not respect Ginny at all; he just cared about himself. Draco, on the other hand, actually earned Ginny's love by putting her needs above his own.

In any case, I'm glad you liked the story, and thanks so much for all of your reviews!
Name: Clearly reviewed Epilogue on Feb 15, 2012 01:35 pm
So happy you did an epilogue! Was great to see there was a somewhat happy ending after what they'd been through. Thanks for the story!

Author's Response: I was a bit iffy about the epilogue, but I think in many ways this story needed it. I'm glad you liked it. ^_^
Name: pitzi reviewed Epilogue on Feb 14, 2012 11:06 pm
Thank you for the story and for writing that epilogue! It really felt like they deserve some peace and quiet together after everything they've been through. Each of them knows what happened to the other so they will be able to help each other to heal.

Thank you very much again!

Author's Response: You're welcome! I really wanted to try and give them a happy ending of some sorts. This story entered some very dark places, but I like to think there is always some hope at the end.
Name: cherryredxx reviewed Epilogue on Feb 14, 2012 08:53 am
I am so glad you chose to finish this story and add the epilogue. The story was so undeniably brilliant, and I loved every single word.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I was a bit iffy about the epilogue, so I'm glad you liked it. And thanks for your reviews! I can see you've been very busy with your own fanfiction of late. I'll have to take a look during one of my breaks. ^_~
Name: cherryredxx reviewed Part Five on Feb 14, 2012 07:42 am
That last line actually made me cry! This story is breaking my heart, but it is so amazing.

Author's Response: It certainly is a very depressing story at times. One of the reasons I took so long to finish it was because it was just so emotionally draining for me.
Name: cherryredxx reviewed Part Four on Feb 14, 2012 06:09 am
The interaction between Draco and Ginny in this chapter gave me chills. You are such a talented writer.

Author's Response: Thank you! Chapter four was always one of my favourite chapters to write. I'm glad you liked the Draco/Ginny scene.
Name: msm_2011simonebb reviewed Part Seven on Jan 31, 2012 10:42 pm
happy that lucius is dead! love the fight scne with draco & bellatrix! ginny save the day!!  so touching moment between d/g at the end!! 

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked the fight scene. I find writing battles of any kind rather challenging, so I'm very happy to hear you liked that one. ^_^
Name: Flipinpenname reviewed Part Seven on Jan 31, 2012 05:11 pm
they had better blasted get together. and honestly, i can't think of a better way for lucious to die. does that make me evil? haha.

Author's Response: Well, this is a DG story, and I did say I was going to write an epilogue, no? ^_~

And I don't think it makes you evil at all. I think it much more fitting for Ginny to have killed Lucius than for Draco to have done so, which is why it happens that way. She had to learn to defend herself, and while her actions will have inevitable consequences, it really was the only way she could have got out of there.
Name: Clearly reviewed Part Seven on Jan 31, 2012 10:01 am
And here I was thinking this was probably the middle of the fic and she was gonna go off and find whoever might still be alive and fighting, only to meet up with him towards the end. Alas, there is only one more chapter. Intruiged! Very good chapter, looking forward to the next, (and last).

Author's Response: This fic was never supposed to be very long, and it always was just supposed to focus on Ginny's time at the manor. The epilogue is really just to tie up some loose ends, but I do hope you will like it.
Name: Flipinpenname reviewed Part Six on Jan 27, 2012 09:35 am
ughhh. i feel so bad for both of them.. update soon!

Author's Response: I'm uploading the next chapter right now, so if all goes well you should see that update very soon. ^_~
Name: msm_2011simonebb reviewed Part Six on Jan 23, 2012 03:18 pm
i don't know how ginny is surviving!

Author's Response: Sheer determination. For all that Ginny is quite 'weak' in this story, she also has a lot of hidden strength.
Name: pitzi reviewed Part Five on Aug 30, 2011 01:25 am
Even though I don't leave review for every chapter I must say that your story is amazing (like your other stories which I enjoy very much).
I rarely go on reading dark stories but can't quit this one. Even though I dread the end. is the fact that there's no Character death warning supposed to encourage me?

i kinda hope that Draco just kills Lucius and escapes with ginny but I know such a thing is much eathier said than done.

I personally don't see any way out for Ginny except suicide but she doesn't seem the type.

I keep waiting for that domino effect...

Thank you, you are amazing! Not every author can pull off such different genres and I've seen your humorous storis and drama and this one of tragedy, so your talent is obvious.

Author's Response: Thank you!

This story probably has been my most difficult to write, just because it is very dark and emotionally draining; I'm actually kind of glad there is only one chapter left. And, yes, I think you should take some encouragement in that there is no character death warning. ^_~

Really, the only hint I can give is that this story will end in a way that you might not expect. That doesn't mean it's going to be happy or incredibly depressing, but if you're familiar with my writing (as it seems you are), then you can probably guess that I like to avoid those extreme, overly dramatic endings. So while I'm definitely not going to go all Shakspeare and leave a litter of bodies on the stage as the curtains fall, I can't promise that it will be all sunshine and rainbows either.
Name: lilpuffskein reviewed Part Five on Aug 29, 2011 10:00 am
I'm waiting in anticipation for the next chapter because I have to know how Ginny is going to get out of this but at the same time I'm dreading reading the next part because I know its going to be traumatic... but my curiosity is definitely winning at this point. Also, I loved that you kept Draco's character in line with what we've seen from canon- definitely agree that he is not a selfless martyr and I'm glad that you pointed that out here. Can't wait to see what you've got next!

Author's Response: You know, I actually am genuinely surprised at how well people are taking this latest chapter. It's not an easy one to swallow, and that really is because so much was resting on Draco, but he's chosen to take the cowardly, self-preservation option rather than go all 'hero' and risk his life for Ginny.

I'm going to try get the next chapter written as soon as possible, so hopefully you won't have to wait long to see what happens.
Name: GoldenFawkes reviewed Part Five on Aug 28, 2011 01:43 am
Whenever I read fics about Ginny being stuck at the Manor being tortured and raped, I always wonder why she doesn't just kill herself. I know I would, given the circumstances. It would be better to be dead.

Author's Response: I think it depends on what type of person you are. My childhood/early teens were traumatic to say the least, but a part of me was never able to take that final step because somehow, deep down, I knew it wasn't always going to be that way and that I would be able to get past it, even if I couldn't forget it. Ginny's situation is terrible, but for me I see her as having that same kind of strength. She WANTS to give up, but a part of her still clings to life and hope, and in that she really can't just end things, because it would mean all the suffering was for nothing and would essentially let the Malfoys win. I don't think Ginny is the person to allow that to happen, even at her worst.
Name: GoldenFawkes reviewed Part Four on Aug 28, 2011 01:31 am
The scene between Draco and Ginny in this chapter was actually beautiful. Tortuous but beautiful. They're clearly both suffering.

Author's Response: Yes, they're both suffering at this point. It's not a good situation for either of them.
Name: Flipinpenname reviewed Part Five on Aug 26, 2011 05:04 pm
draco could leave with her. there solution. problem solved. haha.

Author's Response: Things never really go so easy, you know. ^_~
Name: Anise reviewed Part Five on Aug 26, 2011 04:08 pm
Boogum, dear, you know that I love your writing beyond words, but I really just don't dare to read this chapter. Just the last little bit I couldn't help seeing was about all I could take. I just wanted to make sure you knew why I didn't leave a real review. I think it would be too much vicarious trauma, but I don't want you to think that I don't recognize your amazing talent. Some hints you left after a review for the last chapter have made me come to the conclusion that the best self-care for me right now would be to not read more of this fic, but it's not because it's not good... the problem is that it's TOO good, and too traumatizing for me. Um, the only ending I can see right now is Ginny burning down Malfoy Manor with everyone in it, and that's WITHOUT reading more than those last two or three lines of Chapter 5 that I really could not help reading... (it's not always good for one's mental health to be a very very fast reader.)

I promise to leave detailed reviews for all your other fics...

Author's Response: Fair enough. I haven't completely decided how chapter six (the last chapter) is going to go because the characters want to take a path that will force the story to go down some intense, traumatic paths, and I'm not entirely sure if 'I'm' up to writing that. I can say, however, that the actual ending to the story may surprise you. If you like (and when I've finished the story), I can just give you a copy of the epilogue to close everything off.
Name: lizabeth reviewed Part Four on Jul 22, 2011 07:19 am
This is a wonderful story. I love the complexity displayed by the characters: Ginny's lust for Lucious despite his role in the murder of Ginny's family, Narcissa's murderous Ice Queen, Draco's fractured self.
Please update soon. I would love to know the reason Lucius saved Ginny from the attack on the Burrow and why, despite her rejection of his advances, he is still protecting her.

Author's Response: Thank you! I have about half written of the next chapter, so hopefully I will be able to update soon.
Name: RiddleNoelMalfoy reviewed Part Four on Jul 07, 2011 04:50 pm
finsh plz plz finishh!

Author's Response: I will be finishing this story, and I actually have most of the next chapter written. It's just a matter of finding time to write. :(
Name: Eleoopy reviewed Part Four on May 29, 2011 04:33 pm
Omg, how did I missed this update?!!!! I love this chapter especially the way you show draco's feeling from ginnys perspective. Im gla they finally kiss, but wish they had a better chance without all the complications between them, like Lucius :(. I hope the next chapter would be up soon... Just hope it's not a sas ending...

Author's Response: I don't want to give the ending away, but I really hope people do like it. I don't think it will be what people will expect, but it's really the only way this fic CAN end.

Anyway, I'm glad you liked this chapter. It was a relief for me to finally let Draco and Ginny kiss (those two have been skirting around each other for a while now), but things are very complicated for both of them - not just because of Lucius. I really am hoping to have the next chapter updated soon, but I'm quite pressed for time at the moment and my beta for this fic is also busy. So, while I can't promise you will see any updates for this story in the near future, I CAN promise that I will do my utmost to get it updated as soon as I can. ^_^
You must login (register) to review.