Reviews For Ad Hominem
Name: Rummy reviewed NOW AND THEN on Dec 12, 2013 05:33 am
Fantastic story. I love this Draco you've created, he's marvellous. And the story feel really fresh and original.

Keep the updates coming!

Author's Response: Thank you! I will try to update this soon. :)
Name: WolfStar reviewed Prologue on Sep 20, 2013 05:32 am
MIND. BLOWN.

First of all, how unique that Ginny is a lawyer! I especially liked her lecturing the courtroom.

Second of all, I'm astonished at Draco's charge. I can't remember any other story where Ron is dead, and now I understand the Weasley family's vested interest in this case.

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! I'm glad everything felt natural to you and that you enjoyed this. :)
Name: Anise reviewed NOW AND THEN on Sep 15, 2013 06:32 pm
The amount of angst may vary, but your D/G relationships are ALWAYS so complex, so compelling. :) There are plenty of times when neither one of them is particularly likeable, but they're always keeping our interest!!

I think that we really don't know what happened in their past here-- what their relationship really was to either one of them, why he never had anything to do with her again, why she never tried to find him, either (I guess?), why everything ended up the way it did. I don't really believe that Draco did kill Ron, though, and I don't think that Ginny really does, either. Still... I think he knows a lot more than he's telling. Maybe we'll find out more soon! :)

Author's Response: Draco and Ginny in this story... they're very frustrating to me. I want you to see them for who I mean for them to be, but gradually, and the suspense is killing me. If I let on too much too quickly, this story would have no point to it. Really the most important thing at this stage of the story is showing what is happening to Ginny - her social demise, her slandered name, her career in shambles - and show that it's not her fault entirely, but it is somewhat. In the very beginning, I think, most readers assumed that Draco was evil and Ginny was good, but that isn't exactly true. So hopefully that is coming through. In the end, I hope, it will all make a bit more sense. :P
Name: pitzi reviewed NOW AND THEN on Sep 07, 2013 08:37 pm
Good to see you are updating this. As much as I sympathize with Ginny, Draco is right here - the rational decision for her would have been to say no and tell the family however unappealing that might be. Basically, Draco implies that she is prone to irrational decisions, and reminding her that she could have said no that night might imply that he doesn't think highly of what happened between them then.

I'm interested to see where this is going, as the premise kinda reminds me of "How we pretend to feel" - Draco breaks things off after they sleep together and then several years later comes for help with his trial.

Author's Response: All I can or will say about their romantic/friendly relationship at this point is that it isn't what it seems. Ginny doesn't understand it, and neither do we. But in time, we will. She definitely did make a rash decision by agreeing to represent him, but a lot factored in here. Does she /really/ believe that he is guilty - that is the actual question. There are some similaries to this and Pretend right now, but ultimately they are nothing alike. Pretend focused on Ginny's struggle to find herself, stemming from her shattered love life, to her lost career, to her need to finally take care of herself after spending years being protected by Harry. This story is about social destruction, political assassination, and trying to decipher between what is truth and what is fiction. The basic premise, though, is similar, but to be fair I did begin both of these around the same time. :P
Name: b1elliot reviewed NOW AND THEN on Sep 06, 2013 03:52 pm
Whew! Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Thanks! I will update very soon. :)
Name: msm_2011simonebb reviewed NOW AND THEN on Sep 06, 2013 03:21 pm
what love what draco told ginny at response to her outtburst!!! great dialogue between them! what going to happen between them, next.. an exciting plot, what ginny's friend react to the newspaper article....

Author's Response: You will found out very soon what her family's reaction was to the newspaper article. I will update very soon :).
Name: msm_2011simonebb reviewed Down on Aug 11, 2013 06:17 pm
looking so forward to reading about the aftermath... great moment with draco & ginny...

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! There will be more flashbacks of D and G from that same year coming up in the chapters to follow.
Name: Anise reviewed Down on Aug 11, 2013 03:36 pm
(excuse me a minute)
(grabs Draco)
(SMACKSMACKSMACKSMACKSMACK)

I'm better now. :)

This is really fascinating. And I think that this is the kind of D/G fic that we need to see a lot more of. We don't start out with a whole lot of sympathy for Draco. I'm not completely sure if we do for Ginny, either. If she really, HONESTLY believed that Draco might have killed her brother, then it's possible to say that she should have just taken the consequences of telling the truth about what happened between them. But I don't think that she really does believe it... Anyway, it'll be very interesting to see what happens NOW. These flawed Dracos and Ginnys are so much interesting to read about, and it seems that you're really starting to explore them. :)

Author's Response: Isn't Draco a jerk? Hopefully he'll become a bit more likeable as we learn more about him ;). Anyway. You are completely on the money about Ginny here. A few people have asked why Ginny just doesn't take a hit to her reputation instead of the case, but there are a lot of reasons why she has taken the case that even she doesn't quite realize yet, but hopefully that will all become clearer as the story progresses. And yes. I definitely love the flawed characters. I feel like they're so much more realistic than the perfectsexygorgeoussmart!Ginny and the misunderstoodsexgodwhoreallyhasaheartofgold!Draco that a lot of people write about, because no one - in life or in fiction - can really be that perfect. ;)
Name: brittnymalfoy15 reviewed Skeletons on Aug 11, 2013 02:27 pm
This is getting good....

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! :)
Name: brittnymalfoy15 reviewed Prologue on Aug 11, 2013 02:21 pm
Whaaaat!?? Wow. That last line was a kicker! I'm very intrigued. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!
Name: pitzi reviewed Down on Aug 10, 2013 12:36 pm
This one is quite angsty, isn't it? Poor Ginny. Everyone is probably against her right now. I hope it gets better eventually. And while Ginny may have made some poor decisions, I want to throttle Draco.

Author's Response: This story is a bit angsty, isn't it? We know that everyone will turn against her because of her opening arguments in the prologue, so look for things to turn around once the trial actually begins... which will be soon-ish. I'm glad you want to strangle Draco at this point - because so far he has done nothing good for her - but hopefully you will eventually understand him a bit more. Thanks for the review!
Name: erin noelle reviewed Down on Aug 10, 2013 05:31 am
updateeeeeeeeeeee! :)

Author's Response: I am hoping to update in the next week or so! :)
Name: readhead1755 reviewed Down on Aug 09, 2013 08:53 am
So glad you decided to return to this story!

Author's Response: I promise not to abandon! I will be working more on this story now that Pretend is basically finished. :D
Name: msm_2011simonebb reviewed Skeletons on Oct 25, 2012 11:40 pm
well i am suprise at the reason why ginny is defending draco! great plot...

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! :)
Name: researchinmotion reviewed Skeletons on Oct 22, 2012 10:16 pm
I'm hooked!!!

Author's Response: I'm glad! Thanks for the review ;).
Name: tenna reviewed Skeletons on Oct 18, 2012 01:08 am
Stop calling her love Draco! I...I cannot.

Oh please do continue, this is soooo intriguing and of course he blackmails her, what was I thinking? Perhaps though maybe only in the beginning?

The suspense is killing me.

Thank you :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! I don't liked to give much away in my responses, but I will tell you that her reasons do change over the course of the story. I will try to update soon, and I'm glad you're interested. :)
Name: Lady Mischief reviewed Skeletons on Oct 17, 2012 03:26 pm
The verbal banter between Draco and Ginny is great! I was wondering why she would defend him for the murder of her brother. I love that even when asked point blank if he did murder him, Draco just quips...I was with you, wasn't I. I cannot wait until the next update :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review! I am trying to keep it ambiguous (if he just said yes or no, what kind of fun would that be?), and I'm glad that was something you were able to appreciate! I'm glad you're enjoying this, and I do hope to update soon. :)
Name: Anise reviewed Skeletons on Oct 15, 2012 07:03 pm
(gets a bazooka)

I'm off to find Draco! Don't wait up!

Ergh!!

But you know, Ginny has to carry part of the blame here too. She could call his bluff and let the truth come out, deciding that everyone would just have to deal with it. BUT... it does seem as if she must have taken that choice in part because no matter how much of a complete jerk Draco is, she knows that he couldn't have killed Ron.

So complex, so maddening, so irresistible! Your fics are really good lately. :) Oh, but they make me want to slap these characters around. They really do.

Author's Response: I hated writing this scene - I have to be honest. Draco was a complete jerk, but you're right (as usual :P), there are two sides to everything, and Ginny definitely has her reasons for making the decision that she did. I'm so glad you're enjoying my stories lately! ;)
Name: SunnyStorms reviewed Skeletons on Oct 15, 2012 05:05 pm
Great chapter Pam-very intriguing. I really want to know what caused the estrangement with her family and what happened that night. This is a very interesting relationship you've set up between Draco and Ginny. It isn't so clear cut and makes you wonder what really is going on between them. I'm curious though about the fact that Ginny's taking on this case to in part preserve her reputation--won't the alibi still be an important part of proving him innocent?

Author's Response: Because she is his lawyer, she cannot be called to testify. Draco knows that she values her reputation, so when other attorneys instantly come to the decision that he should settle for a plea bargain, he decides he'd rather go without her alibi and instead blackmail her into going to trial. There is a reason for this, though ;). I'm glad you're enjoying this so far, and I hope to have more to post soon!
Name: pitzi reviewed Skeletons on Oct 15, 2012 01:00 am
Ha, so they do have a history. And him blackmailing her makes the story even more interesting.

Ginny's reasoning is a little hard to comprehend though. Wouldn't her family be less apalled with the fact that she slept with Malfoy once than now, when she is defending him in a trial for her brother's murder?

I'm really looking forward to what's next!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! As far as Ginny's reason goes... remember that Draco is already accused of murdering Ron. So if she tells her family that she slept with her brother's killer the night that he died, it might look like she had something to do with it... or at least she thinks it might. I don't usually give away a lot of details in my review responses, but I just don't want you to get the wrong idea about Ginny. But yes, they absolutely do have a history. :) I hope to post more soon!
Name: pitzi reviewed Prologue on Oct 11, 2012 01:03 am
Well I think that this is an interesting introduction to a story and it already is emotinaly charged and i think it's a good premise that they are not in a relationship and that's why she is defending him. So i think you should go for it.

Author's Response: Thanks for your review :).
Name: gidge_8 reviewed Prologue on Oct 05, 2012 05:17 am
Well, now we really have to know what happened to Ron! :) I was wondering why her speech seemed a bit long, but the closing line explained it wonderfully. It was a great twist.

Author's Response: Haha, thank you! I really wanted to put the last line of her speech as my story summary, but it would just give way too much away. Thanks for the review!
Name: SunnyStorms reviewed Prologue on Oct 04, 2012 08:48 pm
Pam, you HAVE to continue and finish this one. It's got a unique premise going for it and you've set the stage and pulled us in beautifully. Very nice use of details that builds intrigue along with bringing a Wizarding courtroom to life. I especially loved the bit about the Weasleys. You've managed to invoke many questions right off the bat that will keep a reader interested. So in short, I will pester you if you don't continue this. I know where you hang out...online ;)

Author's Response: Haha, thank you. I've gotten some pretty good feedback and a lot of people seem interested, so I think I will continue this. :P I'm so glad you're enjoying it so far! And do feel free to pester me, that way I don't lose focus!
Name: nacilme reviewed Prologue on Oct 04, 2012 12:09 pm
*o*
Must reeead!
See you soon...

Author's Response: Thanks! :)
Name: wolfxlover reviewed Prologue on Oct 04, 2012 10:22 am
I am definitely interested in how this could pan out, also didn't see the murdered Ron coming, I've no idea why but I thought he would be accused of rape

Author's Response: I never considered that. Interesting. Thanks for the review! :)
You must login (register) to review.