Name: Tiny Q reviewed Chapter 4 on Nov 15, 2015 12:08 pm
Wonderful!! And I agree, a sequel is definitely required. ;)
Name: idreamofdraco reviewed Chapter 4 on Sep 30, 2015 10:08 pm
I completely forgot to review!! I'm rectifying that RIGHT NOW.

There's something so fitting about Ginny keeping an extra typewriter lying around. 1) It fits the whole film noir feel of the story, and 2) I mean, OF COURSE Ginny would have a typewriter lying around! Maybe it was in the office prior to her taking residence there? Maybe Arthur gave it to her? Maybe she admired it in a thrift shop window and had to have it for herself? Part of me wants to know the origins of this typewriter!

//with a tone that implied Ginny was a few bludgers short of a Quidditch match//

Omg. What a great line! I love when people take these kinds of idioms and adapt them for the wizarding world.

I know I'm repeating myself, but I love how unexpected the Astoria/Narcissa twist is. There really, really, really needs to be fic about them. Not necessarily saying you should write it (but I would fully support you if you did ;D); it just needs to exist.

I love how Ginny takes advantage of the situation to get more money out of Astoria. I wonder if Ginny's rate for extortion truly is higher than for affairs or if she only said that for the higher fee. I mean, I think she kinda deserved it considering Astoria was planning to use Ginny to do her own dirty work and completely lied about the situation, but it felt like there was a bit of manipulation involved on Ginny's part as well. And of course she gets more money from Draco for solving his problem as well. For someone who finds investigating tedious and not exactly what she signed up for, she's really good at it!

Draco's comments on Ginny's notes are hilarious. I love that they are as witty with each other in text as they are in person. It's twooo wuuuv.

Part of me is surprised that Draco paid the consultancy fee?? He SAYS it's robbery, but he gives her the money anyway. It's nice that after all he put Ginny through he would give her the pay she asked for. Since he didn't hire her and he didn't sign a contract, it seems like he's not obligated to pay. But of course he wants to be in Ginny's good graces. ;)

And then to end a perfectly perfect story, you've got one of the best pre-kiss exchanges I've ever read. Seriously, the progression from payment to asking for dinner to asking for a kiss, and the money-related dialogue around it, is just perfect.

I seriously couldn't have asked for a better exchange fic. You took my prompt and made something truly interesting and exciting out of it, and you included all the best and most important things about Draco/Ginny: banter, antagonism, sexual tension, and then the satisfying resolution. *happy sigh*

I could always go for that sequel whenever you feel up to it! ;) Whether there is ever a sequel or not, I love this so much. Thank you for the wonderful story!!
Name: DwellingInDreams reviewed Chapter 3 on Jun 04, 2015 04:26 pm
During the speed dating, I was pretty sure Draco knew that Ginny was investigating him. The end of the chapter, though, was hilarious! I look forward to reading the rest. :)

Author's Response: You're just too observant for my humble writing. ;) Really glad you've enjoyed it so far - the final chapter is now posted!
Name: RenMalfoy reviewed Chapter 3 on May 28, 2015 03:53 am
Ahh! Love this!! Cant wait for more!!

Author's Response: Thank you! The final chapter is up (only four months late...), so I hope you enjoy the conclusion.
Name: Anise reviewed Chapter 1 on May 24, 2015 10:31 pm
(sticks head in) There will be reviews. YES, yes, there will. Very soon. :)
Name: idreamofdraco reviewed Chapter 3 on May 24, 2015 09:27 pm
(This is going to be a really awful, fangirly review full of my favorite parts and not much feedback from me. I'm sorry.)

//Draco had emerged from the men's room, Neville thrown across his back in a fireman's carry that made Ginny want to find how exactly where he was hiding all of that muscle. "Don't tell me I have to carry you, too," Draco said to her, with a smirk...//

//Draco smirked at that, but his expression seemed to take on a sardonic tone following her comment - almost as though that was the plan - and didn’t that thought just make her feel hot all over?//

//Ginny stifled the urge to outright ask him what he had thought he would be riding instead - and not because she was terrified that the answer might be you. //

//Cheeks burning, she pushed off him, but not before she managed to get a good handful of his toned stomach and chest. "Sorry," she said, fully aware of his hands on her arms as he helped her off the bed, and disappointed she hadn't taken the opportunity to land a little lower on his person, since it was only a matter of time before aforementioned opportunities were non-existent.//

//He took it gently, his thumb sliding across the back of her hand in a way that made her ache for it to touch naughtier parts of her body, and she was immediately stunned by how intimate Draco had managed to make a handshake, of all things. “It’s been a pleasure.”//

Yaaaaass, gurl. Get it. I am here for it! Ahhhhhhhh, the chemistry between them is blinding!! How do you write these kinds of interactions so well??

This chapter is so great because of these moments between them, but just as Ginny is distracted from her investigation by Draco's flirting, I think your readers are also distracted. It's so easy to forget that Draco is supposedly the subject of an affair case, and that there's something sneaky going on that Ginny is trying to figure out. The way this chapter ends, with the harsh reality crashing down on her, is perfect, because the readers, too, are being reminded that Draco is sneaky and he's been one step ahead the whole time. The chemistry between Draco and Ginny might have been real, but Draco was exacerbating it to get into Ginny's head. And that's just beautiful and so Slytherin of him.

Can't wait to read the conclusion again!!

Author's Response: //How do you write these kinds of interactions so well??//
Extreme sexual repression?
Srsly tho, Draco is just such a big old tease that he makes it easy for me. And quite clearly difficult for Ginny - poor gal. ;)
Name: idreamofdraco reviewed Chapter 2 on May 24, 2015 08:48 pm
Figured I'd reread chapters 1 and 2 before validating 3. ;)

Hannah and Neville are so cute together! Neville's nervousness (and impending drunkenness) are adorable.

//He smiled brightly at her, presumably at the idea she might be nervous in his presence...//

I just love this line. One of those moments where you so easily say a lot about a character in so few words. I envy that skill a lot!

//Ginny thought it was more likely he’d been spending too much time in Muggle London, and seen one too many advertisement testimonials for Match.com.//

BAHAHAHA. Was this line in the original version during the exchange? Poor Alphonsus. He was a little charming at first, until he began to prattle on about fate and blind dating.

Seriously, the speed dating is everything I'd hoped it would be, and there are too many funny bits for me to copy them all down (Ginny's second date's spa bath and her rash, for instance, omg). And Draco is annoyingly drool-worthy in your descriptions of him and his easy banter with Ginny. I always love the chemistry between your Draco and Ginnys!

Author's Response: I'm pretty sure that Match.com line was in the original, based on the fact I distinctly remember having a giggle over it when I came up with it. I recall that I was originally going to try and make some snappy remark about Tinder, but I figured I'd keep it age-and-stigma appropriate to really reinforce that a loser this guy was instead.
I'm so glad you liked the dates. It's so tricky to come up with humourous characters who appear in such a short piece of the fic, without being overtly cliche or making them way too two-dimensional.
And I'm glad you liked the chemistry between Ginny and Draco, their dynamic was a little trickier than normal because they both have ulterior motives, so I tried to let the banter make up for it lol. Glad it worked. :D
Name: idreamofdraco reviewed Chapter 1 on May 24, 2015 08:27 pm
//Lack of human emotion – Sociopath?//

One thing I love about your writing is that you have this biting wit, a dry sarcasm that isn't overtly funny, but it's funny because it's so sardonic. You can see Ginny's resignation towards the career she's built. She thought being a PI would be more exciting, but she realized it's not. It's tedious, and the cases are the same boring cases. It feels like Ginny's trying to make the most of an annoying case. This note can't be all serious - she's certainly not qualified to make that sort of claim - but Draco is an acquaintance from school that she dislikes, *and* she dislikes the case, so it feels like she's poking fun more than she's making a legit observation. It's a funny way to show how Ginny feels about Draco AND the case all at once, and the line is so short, it's almost a throwaway.

But, that said, and I'm sure I've said this before, I love that even though Ginny finds PI work, especially for affair cases, so dull, she still takes it seriously, as mentioned in the next quote:

//Ginny might not be enthusiastic about taking on this type of work, but she took more than a little pride in her profession.//

It's tedious, but she compiles every piece of information, records her subject's every moment, even going so far as to grab a flier Draco had taken to add to her pile of clues/evidence. Her job may not be as interesting as she expected, but she still does her best at it. She certainly doesn't have to. She could dissolve her business and move onto something else - it's not like she works for anyone and no one works for her - but I suspect that there is something she likes about the work, even if her cases are often boring.

In other words, you say a lot about Ginny's character and work ethic in so few words. There's no need to go on and on about her history with her PI business and her thoughts on it because you make it obvious by these simple lines and her actions. That's another thing I love about your writing. Your characters are so real in the way they behave, you don't *have* to write too much exposition about their backstories and how they feel. You write complex characters in such an easy way. It's lovely to read. :D

Author's Response: Soooo, I might be replying four months later... but it's better than not replying at all. :D
I'm so glad you enjoyed this fic - especially since it was for your prompt, but I tried to write it with you in mind. ;) And I particularly tried to make Ginny someone you'd enjoy reading about, considering the context of the fic. Speed dating was a tricky prompt to write for since it would have been soooo easy to go with fluff, but I know you always prefer some substance with your fics so I tried to at least give you that (and a semi-exciting plot)! Believe it or not I think the prompt was my first choice, because it was so simple I thought I could do something clever and surprising that you might enjoy! And I really wanted to write for you specifically, anyhoo.
Name: ginatoms reviewed Chapter 1 on May 15, 2015 08:49 pm
Oh I love it so far. Great story. Can't wait to see the next chapters!

Author's Response: Thank you - the next chapter should be up soon!
Name: coneveronica reviewed Chapter 1 on May 08, 2015 10:38 pm
I can already tell that this will need a sequel!

Author's Response: I hope I can accommodate this in future. ;)
Name: vintagepearls reviewed Chapter 1 on May 06, 2015 10:44 pm
This was one of my favorites from the exchange! Glad to see this posted on here. Will look forward to reading this a second time around :)

Author's Response: I'm so flattered - the competition last exchange was fierce! Thank you so much, I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it.
Name: Marinka reviewed Chapter 1 on May 06, 2015 08:44 pm
Loved this week for the exchange Thank you for bringing it here, will you be extending it as well?

Author's Response: Thank you so much! No extension in the works at the moment, but I may look at a sequel at some point in future. Never say never. ;)
You must login (register) to review.