Reviews For la douleur exquise
Name: app reviewed Prologue: we'll always have Paris on Jun 23, 2019 07:49 pm
pleeeeeease post the remaining chapters
I tried to read the original from 2016 but it isn't there anymore, and I love the start so much I wish I could read until the end
Name: lifesend1789 reviewed Prologue: we'll always have Paris on Aug 09, 2017 09:25 pm
I found this fic first from ff net under the DG exchange name and immediately fell in love with it. It is absolutely beautiful ! I love the emotions you evoke with your words, and you've used French beautifully ( although I know nothing about that language). This is so beautifully written!
Name: msm_2011simonebb reviewed Prologue: we'll always have Paris on Jan 27, 2017 01:50 pm
great job!! Amazing job, on the story- could feel the interaction and banter between them!! Love that it's take place in France. Paris in lovely in the summer!(I went to visit as a teen.)
Name: Pan reviewed Prologue: we'll always have Paris on May 11, 2016 10:56 pm
This story is just delightful - I am really looking forward to reading more!
Name: balencestochexi reviewed Prologue: we'll always have Paris on May 08, 2016 05:57 pm
Ohhhh. I love this setup, very fresh. I love the characterization of how they came to enjoy one another's company, very natural. Can't wait for the rest! :)
Name: LettersToViolet reviewed Prologue: we'll always have Paris on Apr 24, 2016 10:16 am
I read the version you wrote for the D/G fic exchange, and I loved it. Really excited you're expanding it. Looking forward to reading the updates!
Name: sweet gurl reviewed Prologue: we'll always have Paris on Mar 05, 2016 11:05 am
So I read this chapter and added the story to my favourites and the I went to read the reviews and someone mentioned going to read the whole fic on the forum so I ran to do the same and I loved it!! You characterization was fantastic and probably one of the best I've read in a while. I loved how you used the French thought in such an elegant way. In other fics when using foreign languages it feels a bit choppy but your use flows perfectly. The only complaint I do have is that the ending HAS to be expanded because it did feel a bit anticlimactic but after reading the reviews again and your responses I'm so happy to learn that the fic is going to be expanded as a whole and I cannot wait to read more! x.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I adore the French language and literature. One of my undergraduate degrees is in French literature, so it is a treat to be able to work it into a DG story. And, you know, the thought of Draco speaking French is very appealing to me. I'm glad that it worked and didn't feel choppy. I wanted it to be organic. The ending was very choppy indeed and sort of hashed together as the deadline truly snuck upon me. There will be a lot of changes and expansions and the ending somewhat (if not signficantly) different from the original, so I hope that you will stay tuned.
Name: prilly1918 reviewed Prologue: we'll always have Paris on Mar 03, 2016 06:04 am
More please!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review!
Name: idreamofdraco reviewed Prologue: we'll always have Paris on Mar 02, 2016 12:21 pm
I so loved this story during the exchange! It was by far my favorite, and I'm so happy to see you posting it so soon after the exchange, too. And expanded to boot!

I like to read reviews as well as stories, and I noticed during the exchange that some people seemed confused as to how Draco and Ginny could be such close friends for so long without ever becoming more than that, as if that is an impossible scenario, or, at the very least, improbable. But I totally bought their conflict, maybe because of the person I am and the kind of insecurities I have. I can totally believe that these two people would be best friends for years and never want to spoil it with explicit talk of something more, especially Draco, who I don't see ever choosing to risk what he has for the hope of something he hopes to gain. Why not stay Ginny's friend and hope she catches on eventually? That's better than speaking up and potentially losing her altogether! (I'm getting a little ahead of myself, but I held myself back a bit while reviewing during the exchange, so I guess I'm making up for it.)

Anyway, my point is, when rereading this chapter, I started asking myself: how could Ginny not have seen Draco's dinner invitation as a potential date? Especially after he took her somewhere expensive and paid for it? But that's the whole point, isn't it? Why WOULD she assume it's a date? She has no reason to think Draco could like her that way, especially after morning after morning of arguing, especially after an antagonistic history/past. Even after they become friends, why would she question what they have, especially if she might lose it if she looks too closely at it?

I've rambled, and I guess this is kind of a pre-review or something. Ahhh, I can't be brief to save my life! But I love this dearly, you're totally deserving of all the awards you won, and I am looking forward to more. n_n

Author's Response: Aww, that is so sweet! Thank you! I had to cut out soo much to meet the exchange deadline and what ended up making the exchange was choppy in places. Because of this, I feel like DG's conflict and circumstances were not really clear. As you put so eloquently, they are Aaron Burrs - the both of them ;) They aren't exactly the bravest when exposing themselves romantically or being vulnerable, especially when the stakes are so high. I think that canon Draco and Ginny reflect this as well. Ginny is very brave in a physical sort of way, but emotionally is something different. As she gets older, she plays things close to her chest (hiding her feelings for Harry until she is sure of his). Draco is the same. In this universe, DG mean too much to each other to risk anything that may not work out. They are also too close to the situation to see where things truly lie. Others can see that they are in love with each other - like Fleur and Gabrielle - but DG are insecure here. So, they won't risk losing each other. Well, this story and this chapter are in Ginny's POV, so we only see things as she does. We don't really know what is going on in Draco's mind. And Ginny is oblivious - of course, it would never occur to her that Draco might be interested in her romantically. I'm actually going to write a oneshot of their time in Paris from Draco's POV that will have their first meeting and other scenes that have not been and will not be in this version of la douleur exquise. Thanks soo much for taking the time to write such a lovely review!
Name: Shyla reviewed Prologue: we'll always have Paris on Feb 28, 2016 08:12 pm
Love this so far!! Amazing!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!
Name: TwistedPixie reviewed Prologue: we'll always have Paris on Feb 26, 2016 01:33 pm
Ok, so I did a naughty. I've stalked it to the DG forum and found the original submission and devoured the whole thing in minutes.

I cannot wait to see how you expand on this, the original is wonderful and lovely and heartwarming and to see the extra dialogue in this makes me so excited. Good luck! Xx

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I had to cut out so many things to meet the deadline for the exchange that this version will be signficantly longer and you will see how they became friends - and why they haven't acted on their feelings for so long. I'm really glad that you liked the original.
Name: Lady Mischief reviewed Prologue: we'll always have Paris on Feb 25, 2016 04:24 pm
I really really like this story. You captured Ginny perfectly, she's innocent, slightly naive, while trying to be grown up, yet still herself. I like your Draco, someone whose seeking power, and commanding respect but still mysterious and snarky enough to keep Ginny on her toes. Ginny failing to mention Seamus, shows she doesn't want the knowledge of her boyfriend affecting her budding friendship with Draco. I'm really excited for your next update. I hope Ginny's feelings are requited by Draco, but that remains to be seen.

Author's Response: Thank you! Ginny is still slightly naive, for all her war experience. She thinks that she isn't, but at nineteen, how much do we really know of the world? In addition, I can see Ginny being drawn to power - she was drawn to Tom Riddle and to Harry - both disparate ends of the power spectrum. I've always felt that after the war, Draco would be determined never to put himself or his family in a situation of danger or subservience to anyone or anything. The best way to do that is to rehabilitate the Malfoy name and image and to build his own power-base. I think that he would want to make sure that another Dark Lord never rose again - not for anymore noble motives than the damage that his own family and other pureblood families incurred because of it. I think that he would want to protect pureblood status even while he is more open to inclusivity and reforming the Ministry so that a single party can't gain so much power.
You must login (register) to review.