Reviews For Somewhere I Belong
Name: Desertisle reviewed Chapter 11 - Get Up on Aug 07, 2017 08:12 am
Great chapter! So looking forward to reading the next installment. Thank you for continuing on this fabulous fic.
Name: sweet gurl reviewed Chapter 11 - Get Up on Aug 07, 2017 01:20 am
Oh that wonderful thrill when they thought of each other as boyfriend and girlfriend! I'm glad that this chapter gave them that bump in their relationship. I love their moments but I would really like to see more conversation between them like when they would sit in front of the tv eating takeout. I miss that but I am really loving how you're evolving their relationship.
Name: Silvryn reviewed Chapter 10 - Breaking the Cycle on Jul 31, 2017 04:24 pm
Ohhhhh man! What's the awful reveal going to be?!
Name: quirky_vixen reviewed Chapter 10 - Breaking the Cycle on Jul 19, 2017 10:02 am
You updated! I'm legit going to cry tears of joy. Have been praying for months. 😭
Name: Anise reviewed Chapter 10 - Breaking the Cycle on Jul 14, 2017 08:50 pm
NEW CHAPTER YAY! Okay, I'm not going to review it, because I'm kind of behind on reading chapters... ;) But it's summer, so I have more time, so I WILL catch up with this amazing fic and r and r!!! Yay, you're back!! And even more yayness!

Author's Response: Yay! And that's completely okay! (I think I still have a few reviews of yours to reply to still on my end...) You are a very busy person! But thank you the acknowledgement. :) I hope your summer is treating you well!
Name: Desertisle reviewed Chapter 10 - Breaking the Cycle on Jul 14, 2017 10:44 am
So glad to see an update on this fantastic story. I was wondering if the last chapter was it since the chapter was left on a good note. I'm truly looking forward to reading the next installments! Congrats on school and starting on your master's program soon. Thank so much for this fic :).

Author's Response: Thank you! And no, its not done yet. There's still a few things to resolve. :) Hopefully you won't have to wait to long for the next one. And thank YOU for reading and taking the time to review as often as you do! I really appreciate it. :D
Name: hatebelow reviewed Chapter 9 - Sleeping Sickness on Jun 15, 2017 10:37 pm
I love this story so much. You weave such beautiful imagery with your prose. The conversation with Narcissa and Draco and the make up stain stood out so vividly in my mind today that I came hunting for this story. I thought you deleted it and I had a mini panic attack of my own. I'm so glad it's still here and I look forward to an update.
Name: CindyLu reviewed Chapter 9 - Sleeping Sickness on Apr 15, 2017 05:24 pm
Where are you TinyQ? We need you.
Name: Anise reviewed Chapter 7 - My Little Ruin on Jan 29, 2017 11:38 am
I think this was a very important “grounding chapter”—so don’t sell it short. The way that Molly Weasley’s acceptance of Draco seemed to mean that the whole family would cooperate… it just seemed too good to be true. The reactions of other Weasleys in this chapter really helped to ground things—it makes sense that Ginny’s father, Bill, and Ron would react the way they did here. It’s also realistic that Harry would react in this way. He doesn't seem to be an awful person, but he’s VERY possessive and intolerant, and you can just see some clues why the marriage ended… :P

But… none of them are exactly *wrong* when it comes to anything they say or think about Draco, which I think is another aspect that feels so grounded. Ron’s accusations are over the top in the way he makes them, but they’re not unreasonable either. It’s easy for us as D/G readers to expect the happy ending, but in this reality, nobody would have forgotten Draco’s Death Eaters affiliations, and everything would have been stirred up yet again by the most recent DE activities. The detail of the way that he knows exactly how the wards around the Burrow work… it says everything. He can’t forget, nobody else can forget, and unfortunately, it makes a lot of sense than they can’t. Ginny really is vulnerable because of her illness, her injuries, her inability to use her wand, and the entire situation, and she does owe a lot to Draco. Would she ever have been with him in this reality if all of these things weren’t the case? Realistically—probably not.

BUT, this doesn’t mean that what they feel for each other isn’t genuine, or that they can’t make the relationship work. It *does* mean that they have a lot to overcome, and that it’s not a foregone conclusion that they will be able to do it. And that’s what makes a good D/G fic meaningful, as well as what makes it work. It has to be just as believable that they would NOT end up together.

Anyway… yay, still two more chappies to read!
Name: Anise reviewed Chapter 6 - Rainbow on Jan 23, 2017 08:47 pm
Yay, another great chapter!! So many things in this one... the subtlety of Draco and Ginny's growing relationship, the tentative trust building between them, those evenings on the couch... honestly, I think that Poltergeist is the creepiest movie ever... and most of all, the reality of the things that could come between them. A lot of fics don't include this, but I think that it's vital to have real reasons why a connection might NOT work out between them, and why they might not make the choice to be together. Such as:

"Was he that desperate to have anything at all with her that he was willing to sacrifice himself in the process? Was she worth that? He hardly knew her—the real, actual her, not the woman he had built up in his mind over half his life. How could she even compare to that? No one could."

See, these are real issues. Draco is afraid of losing too much of himself to be with her, which I think is actually a valid concern from his point of view. It may seem inevitable to the readers that they're going to end up together, but within the reality of the story, it is not a foregone conclusion at all. The differences between them really could be insurmountable in the end. And that's what we have to feel when we read D/G-- that it's not just an exercise in getting them together, but that because of who they are and what their life experiences and situations have been, it's a fight against uphill odds for them to get there. And maybe there's some alternate ending someplace where the relationship just did not work out. That makes it meaningful when things DO work between them.

Anyway... great job, and look at all these chapters I still haven't read! Yay! :)
Name: Anise reviewed Chapter 1 - Bad Blood on Jan 22, 2017 08:57 pm
Ahem. I just realized that I reviewed chapter 5 twice. Well... It was very memorable. I'll be moving on to chapter 6 now...
Name: Anise reviewed Chapter 5 - Ghosts on Jan 17, 2017 07:15 pm
I'm so glad to be able to get back to reading this fic!! :) I know what you mean about making too commitments, believe me... sometimes I still think I was crazy for trying to go back to school while co-running a business... but I pledge to keep up with your fics. :) And my own writing. And-- okay, there's a long list.

I love, love this chapter! So many great aspects of it, from the realism of the trial to the subtle exploration of the broken places in both Draco and Ginny to their tentatively growing relationship to Luna... I love the way that your portray this true, genuine affection between Draco and Luna that feels very pure, that by its nature, is not romantic, is not about attraction, but is so meaningful.

Anyway... I'm going to keep up with these chapters, even though I'm kind of behind...and I'll get to your other fic too. :)
Name: lily_malfoy reviewed Chapter 9 - Sleeping Sickness on Dec 27, 2016 08:27 pm
Well I thought this chapter was Amazing.
Some really difficult themes very skillfully written.
Cannot wait for more!
Name: mickblake reviewed Chapter 1 - Bad Blood on Dec 27, 2016 02:49 pm
Thanks for writing this story. It's very good and I think you're doing a great job bringing them close together. I'm enjoying it very much.
Name: fudgepop reviewed Chapter 9 - Sleeping Sickness on Dec 27, 2016 12:10 am
I have no idea what you mean about crap chapter. The spooning bit had me feeling way too much at once but I'm glad that everyone got to openly discuss their feelings, especially Ginny telling Draco about the chamber of secrets. Can't wait for the next chapter and happy holidays to you too!
Name: Desertisle reviewed Chapter 9 - Sleeping Sickness on Dec 25, 2016 09:24 pm
Loved this chapter. I read and reviewed on ffn due to FIA site issues. Can't wait to read the next chapters. Thank you for continuing with this fic. Best wishes and Happy 2017!
Name: hatebelow reviewed Chapter 8 - Whirling on Dec 05, 2016 10:54 pm
There was just so much to love in this chapter. I was wondering when Ginny would have a panic attack. There's no way she could be moseying through life looking at real Draco's face without ever thinking of flint. My favorite line from this chapter though was "It occurred to her then that he hadn’t stopped touching her since she had approached him in her flat, and the realization did something funny to her stomach." I love that Draco is so tactile with Ginny. After being starved of interactions and love for so long he finally has a person (besides Luna) and he is literally holding on to her. Draco is the absolute cutest. I can't wait to see where this chapter will pick up. Crossing my fingers your schooling goes well so you can get back to writing.

Author's Response: Yay, I'm glad that you loved it. :D I really appreciate how you tell me your favourite lines; it's neat to see what people appreciate in that jumble of words. ;p And thank you for your well-wishes! Though school is actually what's making me write (it's like my pressure valve) so here's to my being on school forever! ... Or just for a few more years...
Name: hatebelow reviewed Chapter 7 - My Little Ruin on Dec 05, 2016 10:17 pm
This is actually one of my favorite chapters even if you feel meh about it. I love domestic Draco and Ginny and just getting to know tidbits about their relationship. My favorite line is "None of them were admitted to the ER, and I got confirmation from Potter, just to be sure. They are all okay.” nothing sexier to me than a little forethought. He thought about her and made sure to check that all of her family members were safe. Awwww.

Author's Response: I think that I probably just read this chapter a few too many times while editing... ;p I'm really glad that you liked it so much. :D
Name: CindyLu reviewed Chapter 8 - Whirling on Nov 30, 2016 10:22 am
I just found your art over on Deviant Art and it would be totally awesome if you could draw something for this fic... maybe one of them snuggling on the couch. Gosh I'm just so obsessed with these two and your art is really fun and whimsical.

Author's Response: Thanks! I've actually got a bunch of sketches of them in my book (including a comic strip and one of them on the couch!), but I'm not sure when I'll get them finished. I've got about 5 years worth of sketches sitting there waiting to get coloured... Though one of the D/G ones is definitely on the top of the pile. :D
Name: RenMalfoy reviewed Chapter 8 - Whirling on Nov 29, 2016 01:36 pm
I havent absorbed a D/G Fanfic like this in a while. I loved it! Great story! Can't wait for more!!

Author's Response: Awesome! I'm glad that you're enjoying it so much! :D
Name: lily_malfoy reviewed Chapter 8 - Whirling on Nov 26, 2016 10:27 pm
Thank you for another amazing chapter!!!!
Can't wait for Luna's gallery night. I love her paintings so much.
The "gin" almost killed me from my heart exploding.

Author's Response: Thanks! I think the gallery night is about 3 or 4 chapters away... I'm excited to get to posting it. :D And please don't die!
Name: phoenixfire reviewed Chapter 8 - Whirling on Nov 26, 2016 03:13 pm
omg this story is so good! im enjoying every chapter so much!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm really glad to hear that! :D
Name: ElectraMackenzie reviewed Chapter 8 - Whirling on Nov 25, 2016 09:58 pm
I can't wait for the next chapter... I wish you didn't have school so we could have more chapters.

Author's Response: School's what's making me write this (it's my pressure valve!), so school is actually a good thing (even if it doesn't seem like it because deadlines...). I'm absolutely useless if I don't have something to procrastinate about... But I'm glad that you're liking the story so much :)
Name: Desertisle reviewed Chapter 8 - Whirling on Nov 25, 2016 06:43 am
Great chapter! This fic is so realistic and so are every character's emotions. Can't wait to read what happens next. Thank so much for continuing to write this story :).

Author's Response: Aw, thank you. :D
Name: ElectraMackenzie reviewed Chapter 7 - My Little Ruin on Nov 23, 2016 01:13 am
So I'm waiting for Ginny to go full I'm a grown woman mode on all of them. Also, for her reinform harry that they are no longer a they and to mind his own business....ha!

Author's Response: That may or may not be happening in the not so distant future... ;p
You must login (register) to review.