Name: ErinC reviewed Third on Sep 07, 2005 05:17 am
Brilliant essay, really! It is giving me and my husband some hope afterall. I just couldn't bear it if the "obvious" came true. Where's the fun in that? I'm rooting for conspiracy theories galore! Anyway...your essay reminded me of something else that appeared in Book 1. You quoted Molly when she says "...he isn't something you goggle at in a zoo..." or something to that effect. Now, if I'm not mistaken, later that same night, Harry has a dream about being an exhibit in a zoo! I know that during that dream, there is some Draco/Snape symbolism too. Maybe a sharp brain like yours can find some further clues in that passage! Thanks for writing your ideas down and posting them for us to read! ~Erin
Name: creamtea reviewed Single on Sep 01, 2005 09:26 pm
Hmmm… what grades this time? Well, GET A LIFE displayed a complete inability to improve, one might almost say a wilful inability to do so. What’s lower than T for Troll? – CT for Concussed Troll (as in Hermione’s comment: thicker than a concussed Troll). GRIFFINDORED is still hopelessly over-invested and unfortunately in thrall to the use of multiple question and exclamation marks. There is also an inability to convey points clearly and strong signs that she has not actually fully read the original essay or read my answers to previous posts, in which I cleared up FAQs. However, on the plus side she does display some grasp of grammar and has some capacity for logical thought – though this latter is hampered by her over-investment. A for Acceptable is clearly unwarranted, but shall it be P for Poor, or D for Dreadful? The deciding factor is her claim that ‘speculation is fun, but there’s a limit’ – minus points for hypocrisy I’m afraid, as clearly her ‘limit’ is speculation with which she does not agree. Almost achieved P for Poor, but in the end: D for Dreadful.
Name: gryffindorred reviewed Single on Sep 01, 2005 06:34 pm
Would just like to address some points in your response to me: you accused me of having an 'emotional investment' in the characters, and insisted that you don't?? what do you call this?? you're the one who's written up a REALLLLY long essay to support a theory that is probably never, ever going to happen!!! don't tell me that's the work of a dispassionate, detached mind!! I think you've probably got a lot more invested in D & G in terms of time, speculation and effort than i ever will in ANY of the characters or ships, being a mere reader of HP. And btw, being a 'Hermione fan' isn't a bad thing, as you tried to insinuate. I like all the characters, as FICTIONAL fun characters who are good to read. It isn't a mutually exclusive thing, you know. Liking Ron or Hermione doesn't mean I hate Ginny and Draco and Dobby and all the rest... please!! Lastly, when i wrote JKR was 'fond' of Ginny i meant exactly what you responded with: she likes writing her. I didn't mean that JK wants to cuddle and baby her. But i also feel she wouldn't portray her in a seriously negative light NOW when we're nearing the end of the series and she's spent time building up the character. And she did say in her interview that 'Ginny's a powerful witch' (see Mugglenet), which I took to mean she's a strong, confident girl. Turning her into a sad, clingy, Harry obsessed freak would make this like any other sad, B grade teen romance novel. Yawn! Please don't get so hung up on semantics; 'fond' is clearly similiar to 'like'. Or at least it was, the last time I checked. You also failed to address my extremely valid point regarding Hermione's reaction to the whole Quidditch/ Felix/ Ron issue. If you truly thought I was pitching for Hermione there, you're sadly mistaken. You see, I'm just a reader who likes to stick to the author's interpretation of her work and her characters, rather than yours or anyone else's. Speculation is fun, but there's a limit, i think. Just wanted to get my opinion across, and I hope you won't be mortally offended by it!
Name: Get a Life reviewed Single on Sep 01, 2005 12:11 pm
Evidence, does it need any? All you have to do is glance at that "Thoery" and you you know what i said was right. And grammar? Get over yourself, it doesn't matter as long as i get my point across, you obsessed freak. I like the books, don't get me wrong, but you are nuts. There's a line between passion and obsession and you crossed it so long ago you cant see it anymore. As for your grade either troll is some reference to harry potter or its french. Either way it's daft. I will not be comingback here so poke fun at me as much as you want. Also before i go you all know i'm right so, HA!
Name: Creamtea reviewed Single on Aug 31, 2005 09:42 pm
I'm beginning to think I should simply GRADE posts - it saves an awful lot of my time. So let me think now, what do I give that last one? It had ... no arguement, zero evidence, a pathetic over-reliance on personal flaming, and - oh yes - a very novel approach to the use of grammar. T for Troll, I think.
Name: creamtea reviewed Third on Aug 31, 2005 09:13 pm
SARAH K: Thanks for your comments, very reasonably put. I don’t think the canon analysis is stretching it – it’s reading HBP as though it were a detective novel (which JKR specifically equates HP to – ‘it reads like a detective novel’), and when you do that, Love Potion shenanigans is what you get. H/Hr was constructed largely from symbolism (as is H/G to a large extent, certainly in its so-called foreshadowing) – and I’ll have no truck with symbolism, symbolism is wishful thinking. I don’t really accept that H/G was a victim of ‘short book syndrome’. H/G never ‘happened’ on the page (we never saw the relationship, we just get told about it). Saying that we think it happened that way bercause she ran out of pages is an unverifiable ‘off-canon’ solution. We don’t know she did at all – what we know is on the page, and we can only deal with what is on the page, by finding the answer in other stuff that’s on the page. Besides, IMO if JKR wanted to put out a 1000 page HP book, at this stage in the game her publishers would just suck it up. Long gone are the days when she had to argue to keep the Troll Fight in PS – these days I think JKR calls the tune. The Love Potions DO look like comic relief, the are played like comic relief, the Wizarding World treats them as comic relief … except when they actually happen. Merope was not comic relief – she ended up dead and LV ended up being born. In GoF Love Potions are not treated as comic relief by Molly or anyone else when Rita Skeeter publishes that Hermione has been using one on Harry – then it’s not funny at all, then vengeance is extracted. And those things are all canon, we don’t have to assume them, they are on the page. JKR played smoke and mirrors with Draco, I don’t see any reason why she wouldn’t do it again. LUTTER: yes I do believe there will be some H/L in Book 7. As I tried to hint in my essays (though I didn’t flat out say it as I didn’t want to be dragged down into any shipping arguments), Harry gets’ re-set’ back to his normal state of ‘zero-Ginny’ when he meets Luna (on the train and at the party). Only after his scull is cracked does that re-set fail to function. In her interview JKR pulls Luna and Neville in from out of nowehere – you’ve got to wonder why.
Name: Sarah K. reviewed Third on Aug 31, 2005 08:47 pm
As much as I despise H/G, this feels a little like the overanalysis that got the H/Hr people in trouble. Not that I'm equating this with some of their more off the wall suff. While I agree completely with the misdirection concerning Draco (I fell for the "unimportant, soon to be phased-out bully" thing big time) and I think a lot of the analysis here is really interesting, it all seems like a bit of a stretch. I think HBP was a victim of JKR holding back for the sake of a lower page count. We got a tighter story and a fan interview, but we lost a fuller H/G storyline, as well as time at the Burrow, and time with the Dursleys. The love potions are in line with the rest of the Weasley twin products, like U-No-Poo: they are all comic relief. Like I said, I detest H/G - it means safety, ease, and familiarity for introverted!Harry, and Star-struck teen girl pay dirt for CenterofAttention!Ginny - and would have prefered to see Harry and Luna's friendship (at least!) explored a little more, I don't believe this is an elaborate game of smoke and mirrors. Why can't H/G be another go nowhere relationship, like Harry and Cho? And if they DO ride off into the sunset together in the end, whats the big deal? Its about time the Canon!bug up the HP fandom's butt died.
Name: veruca reviewed Third on Aug 31, 2005 01:45 pm
Wow. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I remember reading Book 6 H/G and thinking; WTF? I almost lost faith in JKR's writing abilities. Wonderful essays, both of you. *Prints the entire thing and runs out of paper in process*
Name: michelle_31a reviewed Third on Aug 31, 2005 01:43 pm
Well, this is unquestionably well thought out and a definite possibility for what might yet come to pass. I know some people want to forge ahead blindly with "canon" to the exclusion of any other deviations in their preferred, "plotted" storyline, but this is both very open-minded and, to me at least, eminently plausible. I think my favourite part was the reasons behind JKR's insipid writing of H/G -- I just can't believe she would have written it so badly (and unconvincingly) if she had really intended for it to be true and everlasting. No, I do belive there's something major coming that might well shock the fandom (and exhilirate others!) Wonderfully contructed essay :)
Name: Lutter reviewed Third on Aug 31, 2005 12:15 pm
OK, I'm convinced! I don't how u do it....but u've done it AGAIN. I see that u brought up Luna in this article, do u think there will be any H/L in Book 7?
Name: Get a Life reviewed Single on Aug 31, 2005 10:15 am
Jebus Crips! Have you nothing better to do than right that like 100 page snooze fest? god damn i just looked at it and said way to damn long i mean its a book nothing more to elaborate on you read thats what happens not what ever little stupid theory you think up in your head. You people over think things too much. GOD DAMN!
Name: creamtea reviewed Single on Aug 30, 2005 10:05 pm
EMMA, as I said before – you are trying to build a case on zero evidence, upon information which we are not given, hence you have no case. As we are never told how Love Potions work (and there are more than one type of Love Potion – for Amortentia to be THE most powerful, there would have to be others, and Harry refers to A love potion, and not just love potion, hence they might work in different ways), we cannot say how they would or would not work. Also ‘subtle’ is a product of your own mind - I never said ‘subtle’ in my essay with reference to the type of potion used by Hermione. Kindly read my answers to others’ posts: I make it clear that IMO at The Burrow she was aiming at potion, but landed on Pastille. GRYFFINDORRED: I take it you are a Hermione fan? Why on earth wouldn’t/couldn’t Hermione make the silly mistake of dosing Harry because she thinks ‘she knows best’? I strongly suggest you go back and read the essay again, as I make it quite clear at repeated points that Hermione’s actions are not out of any malevolence, but because she thinks she knows what is best. You reference JKR and what you think her opinions are - then take account of her Mugglenet Interview statement where she makes it very clear that EVERYONE has flaws. As to Ginny, let us be precise if we are quoting JKR: she says she likes her as a character - she does not use the word ‘fond’ and furthermore for a writer to like a construction ‘as a character’ does NOT mean they personally approve of them. She enjoys writing Snape, which she has said – does that mean she likes him? You clearly have an emotional investment in the characters – I do not. I am not someone who sees ANY of the characters as ‘real’ or as some ‘imaginary friend’ – they are NOT real, they are FICTIONAL, which JKR is fully aware of as she is the one who is making them up - I can quite see how the very adult JKR could have them do things which might very well tarnish them in your eyes. IMO JKR is not writing this series as a cuddly little bolt-hole from real life. As to your query about ‘why Hermione didn’t dose Ron’ (which is what I assume you were asking) – kindly view my earlier responses to earlier posts.
Name: gryffindorred reviewed Single on Aug 30, 2005 08:15 pm
Interesting theory, with several GIANT holes in it! first, it's simply too easy to insert 'canon proof' to make your theories plausible.. the way the books are written leaves plenty of room for speculation.. second, this is the 6th book in the series.. the penultimate one.. i think JK would want to concentrate on developing her characters, rather than demeaning/ pulling them down.. hermione dosing her best friend Harry with love potions all year?? the same hermione who threw a shit fit when she thought Harry had spiked Ron's juice with Felix? let's face it.. that sounds extremely deceitful and not like her at all.. why would JKR expose such an unattractive, seriously flawd aspect of her personality (that goes completely against whatever we know of her)? and why now? yeah, she's pals with ginny.. but she has been BEST FRIENDS with ron and harry much, much longer.. i don't see her tricking one of them for ginny, or anyone else! as for ginny, if you've read JK's interviews you'll notice that this is one character she's really fond of.. she wants to portray her as someone warm, and brave and funny and loyal.. she's got a bit of fred and george, sure, but she's also got a lot of ron in her...JK's tried to depict her as a mature, confident girl with plenty to offer.. why would she suddenly turn her into a sad, clingy little girl who's desperate to get harry? yes, she likes him, and always has, but to go that far?? your comparing her to merope is just plain insulting.. please, take a better look: one hand, we've got a pretty popular girl whose good looks even her worst enemies acknowledge: pansy parkinson etc. talk about how she's hot and how boys like her..on the other hand, we've got a cross eyed, stepped on, poor, miserable witch who's too scared to use her own powers properly around the house.. what's the connect? we've all been in love, but very few of us resort to such drastic measures.. it's akin to holding someone hostage, isn't it? hermione's liked ron for years now, and he hasn't noticed.. she didn't stoop so low, so why should she want ginny to? and if you really feel that ginny meant, 'i wanted to be more like cho chang'.. please! the pause between more and 'myself' was for emphasis and effect.. as in, 'i just needed to be myself,' rather than something extraordinary, or different...again, you could interpret that a million ways. cheers!
Name: sweetproserpina reviewed Third on Aug 30, 2005 07:29 pm
Well done! I have really enjoyed the very well-researched theories that you have laid out. One point that I couldn't agree more with was: "She quite clearly holds strong views on this and thinks that women are deluding themselves if they think ‘I’ll be the one who changes him’. IMO she is right in this, but then I find it very difficult to see how she can hold that view whilst genuinely expounding in canon that a girl should hold on for some boy for five years, in the belief that things will change, and then attempt to change herself to get the boy." That bothered me quite abit in HBP, JKR does not seem like a women who would encourage years of hero-worship in hopes of waiting til the bloke notices, especially when she 'tsks' at fangirls in her interviews. It's contradictory as you explained so well. As we know, JKR does not purposely put morals and mesages into her books, but she tackles a lot of issues that teach her readers to be strong, tolerant, and responsible people. Pining Ginny finally getting what she yearned for doesn't seem to fit JKR's overall message. Once again, well done, I hope this isn't the last we hear from you!
Name: Anise reviewed Single on Aug 30, 2005 04:06 pm
I, of course, must put in my two cents' worth. ;) I have to say that IMHO *any* of the clues Emma would have liked to have seen regarding love potions would simply have been too glaringly obvious. They would have been too close to the equivalent of a red neon sign on the page: "HEY! LOOK! Hermione's hovering suspiciously over Harry's glass, and she's arguing about love potions with Ginny! Lookie lookie loo!" I just don't think that JKR would have tipped her hand with anything so obvious, especially when the storyline wasn't going to be resolved in Book 6, and we all still had two years to wait until Book 7. That being said, I like to see debates. :)
Name: Emma reviewed Single on Aug 30, 2005 01:38 pm
Creamtea: I *know* that we haven't been told how love potions work. That's the *entire problem* with your essay. Seeing as how we have no information on how love potions make the victim fall in love with whoever gave it to them, we're pretty much given free rein to imagine how it works, which doesn't seem right if JKR is supposedly planning to uncover a giant red herring in book 7. JKR likes to give us enough clues to give us some indication as to what's going to happen, but interestingly enough, in this case, she HASN'T. It would have been very easy for JKR to demonstrate or explain how they work in canon, but she DIDN'T. Could it be because love potions are NOT that important to the plot? Your theory simply doesn't have enough evidence to back it up. The scenario is somewhat plausible - especially from the POV of someone who's anti-H/G - but the clues, simply, are not there. JKR ALWAYS leaves us bits of foreshadowing for a plot twist, as any good writer should. (E.g. Rita Skeeter's Animagus form - we see a beetle everywhere she gets hold of important information; Sirius' death - the quivering knife, his Animagus form is the Grim, etc.). There are no such clues for this theory; only ones that *could* support it, which are therefore twisted around until they do. (E.g. The idea of Hermione leaving a *subtle* love potion in Harry's room for him to smell.) Where are we shown that love potions "infect" you when you breathe them in? In Slughorn's class, the Trio simply experience a feeling of great contentment: they do not fall in love with anyone. Seeing as how that case was with the "most love powerful love potion in the world", I fail to understand how a *subtle* love potion that Harry only breathed in caused him to start to feel attracted to Ginny. It would have been esay for JKR to add in these clues. For example, where are we shown Hermione suspiciously hovering around Harry's drinks? Why don't we see the tail end of a heated discussion between Ginny and Hermione, in which Harry thought he heard his name and the mention of a love potion? Either of these could have been seamlessly added into canon, IF it were what JKR is planning. Besides, maybe it's just me, but I don't see the appeal of breaking Harry off from Hermione, since "[He] needs her badly", and Ginny, "his best source of comfort." (HBP, p. 591 UK)
Name: creamtea reviewed Single on Aug 29, 2005 09:15 pm
To EMMA: So far we haven’t been told how love potions work AT ALL – anywhere in HBP or in any other book – we have no real idea of the logistics of them. Indeed it struck me as odd that JKR deliberately chooses to withhold that information – possibly so as not to get herself into knots. So, as we don’t have any hard intel about the logistics of administration/the methodology of effect (although we are given effect and examples of effect), then any argument against based on ‘how it works’ is a non-starter. To JOHN: We’re all perfectly aware of what she said in the interview, I was perfectly aware of it when I wrote the essay. Many anti-Draco fans were also ‘fully aware’ of her ‘attitude’ to Draco from her many interview statements on him: taking from her quotes that he was worthless/evil/due to be phased out – whatever, and they never hesitated to quote her on that. Well, that turned out wrong, didn’t it? But when you look back at her Draco-quotes, she never lied, people simply took her at face value without taking a questioning mind to what she said. I don’t see any reason for her H/G quotes to turn out any different – and indeed I have now completed my third essay in the ‘Creamtea Trilogy’ which looks closely at her Mugglenet Interview. (Anise will publish the second and third essays in due course.) And as LISSA says – these books are meant to stand the test of time, they’re meant to be read in 100 years time as Nesbit is, they’re meant to be up there with Lewis and Tolkein, and as such they’re meant to be read entirely on the TEXT alone, as the TEXT is all that the reader will have in 100 years time. In the text H/G does not work, and my LP theory is an explanation as to why it does not – because narratively it is not meant to, with the reveal coming in Book 7.
Name: houseofboo reviewed Single on Aug 29, 2005 02:20 pm
hello creamtea just thought you might like this quote from JKR's World Book Day Chat, 2004. I found it fishy:mnich: Is it true Harry will get a more permanent injury in the sixth book? JK Rowling replies -> I've read this rumour on the net and I'm not sure where it came from. I don't really want to get into what happens to Harry in book six, but I certainly never said that he would have a 'more permanent injury'. Notice as she doesn't flat out deny the injury thing, goes round saying she doesn't want to go into Book 6 plot, to me it seems she was hiding something. Maybe she was thinking of the head injury or, if you are right, of Harry being given LP.
Name: Hermione's Cat reviewed Single on Aug 29, 2005 12:03 pm
Ummmm, well, that was an interesting read. Very creative, I must say. The thing is I absolutely abhor H/G. I can't stand it. It's contrived and has no foreshadowing. I think Ginny is not right for Harry and certainly not the goddess that the H/G fans think she is. Far from it in fact. But I can't buy into this theory either. It takes too many assumptions that are harder to believe than what was in the book. For instance, I don't think that Fred&George's room smelling like gunpowder, having a stray pasty or having flowers in there to try and cheer the place up is harder to accept as is than your idea that it's Hermione's working of a love potion. Sorry, but that one is too far fetched to believe. Because other than your assertions, there isn't canon evidence for it. And that's the beginning - both of what you say started it and what I see wrong with it. No, believe me, H/G is vomit-inducing. Poorly thought out and presented. But unfortunately there is no hidden agenda behind it. Let's just thank whoever and/or whatever we each do that it's over and pray that remaind the status quo.
Name: Lissy reviewed Single on Aug 28, 2005 08:55 am
The problem is that JKR had to tell us all this in an Interview. Twenty years from now, readers of Harry Potter may not have that Interview to tell them the "true path," since it is obviously not written in the books. If you have to explain your books in interviews, that means that the readers are NOT getting it on the page. G/H is a failure. If it wasn't, there would not be any Love Potion Theories. That is the problem with G/H, it comes off as Canony Chocolate Crap, CCC -- see failure. Even great authors fail, and G/H is one of JKR's. Interesting that 40% of on-line fandom didn't like Ginny before HBP, and it has gotten majorly worse since HBP came out. Ginny is a bitch and a bully in Canon, so nearly half of fandom do not want her with the hero for that reason, alone. Sad, isn't it?
Name: John reviewed Single on Aug 27, 2005 06:28 am
JK ROWLING: "... the plan was, which I really hope I fulfilled, is that the reader, like Harry, would gradually discover Ginny as pretty much the ideal girl for Harry. She's tough, not in an unpleasant way, but she's gutsy. He needs to be with someone who can stand the demands of being with Harry Potter, because he's a scary boyfriend in a lot of ways. He's a marked man. I think she's funny, and I think that she's very warm and compassionate. These are all things that Harry requires in his ideal woman. But, I felt — and I'm talking years ago when all this was planned — initially, she's terrified by his image. I mean, he's a bit of a rock god to her when she sees him first, at 10 or 11, and he's this famous boy. So Ginny had to go through a journey as well. And rather like with Ron, I didn’t want Ginny to be the first girl that Harry ever kissed. That's something I meant to say, and it's kind of tied in. One of the ways in which I tried to show that Harry has done a lot of growing up — in “Phoenix,” remember when Cho comes into the compartment, and he thinks, ‘I wish I could have been discovered sitting with better people,’ basically? He's with Luna and Neville. So literally the identical thing happens in “Prince,” and he's with Luna and Neville again, but this time, he has grown up, and as far as he's concerned he is with two of the coolest people on the train. They may not look that cool. Harry has really grown. And I feel that Ginny and Harry, in this book, they are total equals. They are worthy of each other. They've both gone through a big emotional journey, and they've really got over a lot of delusions, to use your word, together. So, I enjoyed writing that. I really like Ginny as a character." "Equals". "Worthy of each other". "Gone on an emotional journey together". "Harry's ideal woman." Their romance is clearly the real deal.
Name: Emma reviewed Single on Aug 26, 2005 12:09 pm
Your theory has one major flaw: So far, we haven't been told why love potions cause someone to fall in love with a specific person. Currently, all evidence points to the person that gives the "victim" the potion. For example, Tom Riddle Sr develops feelings for Merope, and we *know* that she gave it to him. Ron goes crazy for Romilda Vane, even though it was originally intended for Harry. As well, Fred and George's love potions are available for any girl to buy and give to the unsuspecting boy of her choice. According to this, Harry should have fallen in love with Hermione, as she was the one who was "drugging" him. Even if there is some sort of personal additive a girl must add to a love potion to make it work, we haven't had any evidence of this in canon, meaning there most likely isn't an additive, if your theory is correct. This essay was well-written but it simply doesn't hold water: it depends far too much on circumstantial evidence.
Name: Kate reviewed Single on Aug 26, 2005 11:55 am
This theory makes sense in a way - until you sit down and ask yourself why on earth JKR would have H/G crash and burn in one book after having set it up for the past five books. (See Red Monster's "Giving Her the Power" for the full story, if you haven't already. http://www.sugarquill.net/index.php?action=gringotts&st=hglovered) The infamous Mugglenet/TLC interview also provides evidence against this theory, as JKR calls Ginny "pretty much the ideal girl for Harry" and says that she "really like[s]" her as a character. We also know that she is very fond of Hermione. This theory portrays both Ginny and Hermione as being quite morally bankrupt, and for what? So that ridiculous theories can disprove H/G once and for all, just because some people don't like it. "Just to begin with, this is actually one of the most damning pieces of evidence against lasting/meaningful H/G, because Harry has had reactions to Ginny for months by this point. (snip) At this point, we have a tremendous amount of longing and yearning and fantasizing on Harry’s part. Ginny would be the most logical person, thing, or concept to leap into his mind right now, when Dumbledore brings up love. But he doesn’t think about Ginny at all. He doesn’t spare a single thought for her or about her, and this, of all times, would be the time to do it. If love is the only way he’s going to ultimately defeat Voldemort, this is the perfect moment to think about someone he does love or might love. The fact that he doesn’t do this is some pretty major foreshadowing for the idea that love for Ginny is not going to be the love that defeats Voldemort." You're right - the fact that he doesn't think about Ginny here is very telling. But notice that he doesn't think of anyone else he loves - neither Ron nor Hermione, not Sirius, not Remus, Dumbledore or any other friends or family. Could it be that the love he will use to defeat Voldemort is GENERAL love, not romantic love? Just a thought.
Name: houseofboo reviewed Single on Aug 25, 2005 12:44 pm
Hello creamtea. I sent you an owl in fictionalley but your in-box was full. Just wanted to point out, sorry if it's in your essay already (it's been two weeks or more since I read it!) that Mrs. Weasley told Ginny and Hermione about a "Love Potion she'd made as a young girl." PoA, page 56 British edition (chapter 5)
Name: Lysette reviewed Single on Aug 24, 2005 06:36 am
I honestly think that when Hermione said that Ginny had given up on Harry, she really meant herself. Hermione, like most Herons, firmly believes that Harry is not interested in her that way, Ginny is his type like Cho, not herself. We keep getting told that Ginny is just like Cho, only better. That is why she gave Harry the Love Potion. (Date Rape Drug - no difference, but tragically Hermione cannot see it.) Most of HBP is Hermione trying to secure Ron, who she is convinced does have feelings for her, but Ron may not have them the way she thinks anymore. JKR would like having everyone thinking that the wrong person loved them because she likes to mix it up. The more Hermione tries to force a declaration from Ron, the more he tries to avoid it, does explain R/Hr in HBP quite well. Now that Hermione is his for the taking, Ron is not so sure he wants her. Remember, "Sometimes you will find having a thing is not as fine as wanting." (Mr. Spock on Star Trek)
You must login (register) to review.